Go to top of page



Membership of NTCAT

NTCAT has over 30 members who hear and decide cases.

NTCAT has two permanent members – Mark O'Reilly, President and Andrew Macrides, Senior Member.

The President is responsible for the management and administration of the Tribunal.

The remaining members work on a sessional basis, meaning they are only engaged in connection with particular proceedings – for example, to conduct compulsory conferences and hearings.

NTCAT’s members are appointed for their specialist knowledge and qualifications from a diverse range of professional backgrounds. This is important to provide flexibility in the make-up of the tribunal when it is dealing with specialised areas, for example professional disciplinary matters.

All NTCAT members are expected to have:

  • a high level of integrity
  • sound judgement
  • legal or other relevant skills
  • a capacity to make fair decisions quickly.